Timothy Caulfield

HAVE A FRONT ROW SEAT, in the comfort of your living room!

 

Register now using the links below.

 

We will draw for 10 copies of these best-sellers, authored by Dr. Caulfield, at the end of the sessions.:

  • Relax, Dammit! Healthy and Happy in the Age of Anxiety
  • Is Gwyneth Paltrow Wrong About Everything?
 
 

SPECIAL EVENT
WITH GUEST SPEAKER

 

TIMOTHY CAULFIELD

Professor of Health Law & Science Policy and author of Is Gwyneth Paltrow Wrong About Everything?

 

Professor Timothy Caulfield is an unrivalled communicator who debunks myths and assumptions about innovation in the health sector — from research on stem cells to diets to alternative medicine — for the benefit of the public and decision-makers. He is a Canada Research Chair in health law and policy, a professor in the Faculty of Law and the School of Public Health, and a research director of the Health Law Institute at the University of Alberta.

 

Over the past several years, Caulfield has been involved in a variety of interdisciplinary research endeavours that have allowed him to publish more than 350 articles and book chapters. His research focuses on topics like stem cells, genetics, research ethics, and the public representations of science and health policy issues. The recipient of numerous academic and writing awards, Caulfield is also a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences.

 

English sessions with LIVE French translation

R.A.C.E. approved: #20-869842


Spinning Science: Getting to the Truth about Our Health

September 22, 2021 from 7 pm-8 pm (EST)

 

What is the truth about how to live a healthy lifestyle? Whether the issue is diet, exercise, sleep, gut health, genetics or emerging technologies, it has become increasingly difficult to separate the real science from the nonsense. In this era of "fake news", "alternative facts", "celebrity culture" and conspiracy theories, critical thinking skills are essential. Indeed, the spread of misinformation has become a defining issue of our time. In this fun and provocative talk, Timothy Caulfield will examine the social forces that are twisting science and how we can all cut through the noise to get to the truth about our health.

 

 

 

REGISTER NOW

 

September 22, 2021
8:30 pm-9:30 pm (Newfoundland)
8 pm-9 pm (Atlantic)
7 pm-8 pm (Eastern)
6 pm-7 pm (Central)
5 pm-6 pm (Mountain)
4 pm-5 pm (Pacific)

 

 


 

Relax, Dammit! Healthy and Happy in the Age of Anxiety

September 23, 2021 from 3 pm-4 pm (EST)

 

In this presentation, Timothy Caulfield will explore the things we all stress about in a typical day, from when we get out of bed to how much coffee to drink, to how our kids get to school, to how we handle our email, to how we can be more productive to whether we should sit on that dirty toilet seat. We make, and worry about, a thousand big and little decisions during our waking hours. Too often these decisions are dictated by concerns or beliefs about our world that simply aren’t true. These misperceptions impact our day-today decisions and, it will be argued, unnecessarily stress us out and cause us to waste time and money.

 

 

 

REGISTER NOW

 

September 23, 2021
4:30 pm-5:30 pm (Newfoundland)
4 pm-5 pm (Atlantic)
3 pm-4 pm (Eastern)
2 pm-3 pm (Central)
1 pm-2 pm (Mountain)
12 pm-1 pm (Pacific)

 

 


Here's a teaser!

 

Vetocontact

Access restricted to Veterinarians

Login